Building a healthy relationship with food – Post 1 ‘Guilty Eating’

I’m a firm believer that in order to create healthy eating habits you need to first have a healthy mental relationship with food. In fact it has become somewhat of a little passion of mine. Therefore I’ve decided to write about this issue over a number of posts varying in subject matter with the overall aim that my thoughts and personal discoveries may help someone else.

Guilty Eating

Guilty Eating

After a rather ‘decadent’ weekend of eating and drinking there seems to be no better time to talk about food-guilt! Everyone would know what I mean by food-guilt I’m sure. It’s that horrible nagging at the back of your mind after indulging in a piece of cake (or two), that nauseating and stomach churning feeling you get after eating fast-food or the crippling feeling of worthlessness after a big night out and a stop through Maccas on the way home. Yes a lot of the physical effects are probably due to the fact that you did just consume something unhealthy and lacking any real nutritional value, but so much of it can come down to guilt and the mental beating up you’re giving yourself.

It’s taken me a long time to reach a point where I’m able to indulge without going into a down-ward spiral of emotion and then continued indulgent behaviour. I admit that I’m still not at that point where I’m able to shake the guilty feeling completely, but I am able to move on quickly. At the end of the day, I think moving on really is the key.

If I want to have a piece of my friend’s birthday cake, I will. But I want to enjoy it. There is nothing worse than eating a ‘treat’ but feeling guilty for eating it whilst you are still eating it! I mean, what’s the point of even eating it in the first place if you can’t enjoy it?

It’s this toxic relationship with food that I feel creates health and weight problems more than anything else. My mentality is that if you are going to branch out and treat yourself on the rare occasion then do it, enjoy it and know that after the treat you can go back to eating well and maintaining a balanced lifestyle without any extreme detrimental effects. In essence – move on from it.

For me maintaining a sugar free / fructose free lifestyle is not always practical and is made especially difficult when attending group events or birthday parties. This is why I’m willing to slip up every now and then, all the while knowing that while I am in my home environment I am in control and won’t be putting myself in the road of temptation. I get comfort out of the thought and even look forward to the fact that I can eat so healthily at home.

Just remember that there is no need to let one ‘treat’ lead you into another and another, you have not ruined your diet by having just the one. Having many though will have more lasting effects. YOU are in control of what goes into your mouth, so enjoy that brief moment of naughtiness and then continue on your wholesome and healthy journey.

Sinead xx

Leave a Reply

